KAY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE board of directors

Kay Electric Cooperative's service territory is divided into nine voting districts. A nine-member board of directors represents consumer-members in each district.

Kay Electric board officers are:

- President, Max Hohmann
- Vice President, Verl Brorsen
- Secretary/Treasurer, Ron Shoffner

Trustee positions are up for election every three years. In February, Districts 8 and 9 held trustee elections with incumbent trustees Dr. Tim Blanton and Verl Brorsen being re-elected. Due to retirement of Trustee Kent McAninch, nominations were received for the District 7 position with Bart Cardwell or Andrew McCann to be elected at the next Annual Meeting. Any member may run for trustee, according to qualifications listed in the co-op bylaws, Sec. 4.02. Trustees are required to go through a certification process and must stay informed about electric utility issues and trends.

Contact Kay Electric Cooperative at 800-535-1079 or visit www.kayelectric.coop for more information. ■



















KAY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE 2019 annual meeting minutes

The Annual Meeting was held April 12, 2019 at the Blackwell High School. President Max Hohmann called the meeting to order at 7 p.m.

Ron Shoffner, Secretary/Treasurer, presented the prior year's meeting minutes, which were duly approved. Mr. Shoffner then presented the Cooperative's current financial report and opened the meeting for any questions concerning the printed Treasurer's Report that was mailed to each member.

Jon Ihrig, Attorney, addressed the membership about the nomination process and the bylaw amendment approved by the membership at the 2018 Annual Meeting. Mr. Ihrig reported that the 2019 district meetings were the first conducted under the revised bylaw section 3.07, "Nomination and Election of Trustees". He summarized the 2018 bylaw language allowing for an election to the Board of Trustees at the district meetings under the condition that if only one valid and eligible candidate is nominated and it is evident, after having pursued three times for further nominations and with none forthcoming, that the one eligible candidate is elected without a necessary Annual Meeting vote.

Attorney Jon Ihrig reported upon elections held at the most recent district 7, 8 and 9 meetings. Mr. Ihrig reported that pursuant to bylaws section 3.07, "Nomination and Election of Trustees",

each incumbent was properly nominated and with no further nominations made, such candidates were declared elected as Trustee without further approval. Those nominated and elected for Trustees were: District 7: Kent McAninch, District 8: Dr. Tim Blanton and District 9: Verl Brorsen.

The Red Dirt Rangers provided entertainment for the evening. Numerous prizes were also awarded throughout the meeting ending with the Grand Prize of \$1000 which was awarded to Hugh Leven. After the Grand Prize announcement, the meeting was adjourned.

~ Ron Shoffner, Secretary/Treasurer

2022 DRIVE-THRU annual meeting

Official Notice of Annual Meeting

The Annual Meeting of members of Kay Electric Cooperative will be held at the Kay Electric headquarters in Blackwell, Oklahoma on Friday, April 8, 2022 as a drive-thru event.

Registration will begin no earlier than 3 p.m. until 7 p.m. The following matters will be voted on by all registered members:

- 1. The Minutes of the 2019 Annual Meeting. (To comply with COVID-19 guidelines, no Annual Meeting was held in 2020 and 2021.)
- 2. Vote for Trustee for District 7.

In Accordance with the Bylaws of the Cooperative, approved and adopted by the membership, no election of Trustees is required at this meeting for District 8 and District 9. The following persons having been declared elected as Trustee by the membership of the respective Districts in which meetings were held this year. With the retirement of District 7 Trustee Kent McAninch, the membership will be voting on a new Trustee at the drivethru annual meeting.

District 7: Vacant ■ District 8: Dr. Tim Blanton ■ District 9: Verl Brorsen

Dated this 29th day of March, 2022 ~ Ron Shoffner, Secretary/Treasurer



"Special Thanks" to the Kay Electric Minutemen and Women for their help planning and executing the 2022 Drive-Thru Annual Meeting.



- Bob and Debbie Payne
- Corbin and Brooke Dewitt
- Jerrold and Kay Dark
- Lonnie and Suzann Ingram
- Greg and Kayla Hohmann
- Ryan and Brittany Rector
- = T. J. J. D. J.
- Tom and Lynda Dolezal
- Kirt and Regina Sharp
- Bill and Becky Cunningham
- Rick and Dianne Jeans
- Wade and Lezlee Locke
- Doug and Pat Brown
- Leon and Liz Chrz



Drive-Thru Procedure

MUST BE PRESENT IN VEHICLE TO VOTE

- Upon registration, each member will receive a ballot, a \$20 attendance gift and be entered into the drawings for KEC's awesome door prizes!
- The drive-thru lane for registration will open NO EARLIER than 3 p.m.
- The drive-thru lane for registration will end at 7 p.m. SHARP.
- No access to the parking lot for registration or voting allowed after 7 p.m.
- Enter the KEC parking lot at the designated area for the drive-thru event, registration, voting information, ballot and prizes.
- Each registered member will be automatically entered into the prize drawings to be held on Facebook and the KEC website after 7 p.m.
 Winning members will be notified by phone.





